Software Selection
Part of Subscription software selection
Evaluating subscription app costs at higher customer volumes
Model subscription app charges at higher volumes using transactions, revenue limits, feature tiers and current plan terms.
Model subscription app costs by separating plan fees from charges linked to eligible transaction value or count. Shopify Subscriptions is listed as free, Recharge from $25/month, and Appstle with a free plan.
The plan figures do not include usage rates or numeric volume breakpoints for these apps. A conditional calculation shows how the usage-linked part changes when eligible transaction value and count double.
Build the volume model
For a typical and a busier 30-day period, track active subscribers, eligible paid transactions, transaction value and subscription revenue. Keep prepaid payments separate from later deliveries they fund: several parcels may follow one charge.
Where a provider charges a percentage and a fixed amount per eligible transaction, use: App charge = fixed plan fee + percentage × eligible transaction value + fixed transaction charge × eligible transaction count + paid extras.
Customer count alone does not show the charge volume: the usage-linked parts of this model depend on eligible transaction value and count. No per-subscriber charge, actual percentage rate P or fixed transaction charge C is stated for the named apps, so use contracted rates where available.
Keep store-plan costs and payment-processing fees separate from app charges. A 0% app transaction fee would not make payment processing free. Check that billing periods and currencies match before comparing amounts.
Compare public plan structures
Shopify Subscriptions is listed as free. The listing includes auto-billed subscriptions that renew weekly, monthly or yearly, with discounts and options for customers to cancel, skip or pause.
Recharge is listed from $25/month, with a free trial. Its listing shows “25–50” alongside “$25/month” without stating what the range measures. It says external charges may be billed separately from the Shopify invoice.
Appstle Subscriptions has a free plan and a free trial. No numeric paid-tier price is stated. Its free-plan listing does not state a numeric volume breakpoint or the charge above one.
No numeric subscriber-count, transaction-count or subscription-revenue breakpoint is stated for Shopify Subscriptions, Recharge or Appstle. The listed plan details therefore do not identify a volume at which a plan fee changes or what the resulting fee would be.
Calculate a bounded example
Let V be eligible transaction value and N be eligible transaction count for one billing period. If Recharge’s listed $25/month starting price applied as the fixed fee F, the conditional charge would be $25 + P × V + C × N + paid extras. The listing does not state P or C, so this cannot give a dollar total.
If eligible value and transaction count both doubled, while the $25 fee, P, C and paid extras stayed the same, the charge would be $25 + P × 2V + C × 2N + paid extras. The increase would be P × V + C × N: the usage-linked part doubles, while the total charge does not necessarily double because the fixed fee and extras remain unchanged.
Recharge’s $25/month is a starting price, not a confirmed fixed fee at either volume. Use contracted terms for the plan fee, rates and eligible-transaction definitions.
Check the next threshold
Before modelling a plan change, confirm what counts towards eligible volume, whether subscriber count or subscription revenue triggers a change, and when any new charge applies. No numeric breakpoint or above-threshold charge is stated for the three named apps.
Keep any Recharge external charges distinct from store-plan and payment-processing costs. Confirm billing currency and period, then convert the budget to Australian dollars where needed.
Retain the dated plan terms, quote and volume assumptions, and refresh them before committing.



